Southampton

 

This was the first road trip I did with my two children, on my own. It was during the school holidays and I was debating where to take them for a day out.

I decided on a road trip to Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth and to break up the journey, we stayed in Novotel, Southampton, from where we drove further south to Portsmouth the next day.

The South of England has many beautiful beaches and coastlines to enjoy.

Southampton itself was a nice little town, a perfect stopover place. From museums, to a bit of retail theraphy, I believe there is something for everyone.

There was a shopping centre near the hotel, and a few takeways and restaurants nearby. Although it was very quiet when I went, this is the port from where a lot of holiday makers embark on their cruise ship.

There is a nice view over at Southampton Vehicle Terminal Quay, where cruise ships are. The view is phenomenal. I had never seen a cruise ship that near, and I was amazed.

A few popular events and activities –

Of course there is the Southampton Fooball club for the football fans.

Shopping –

Westquay and Marlands Shopping Centre

Christmas Festival – it features a german market.

Culture – City Art Museum, Sea City Museum

Novotel

I love Novotel hotels. I try to stay at one of the Accor Group Hotels whenever I travel and

Novotel is one of my favourites.

.IMG_9578

The view from my room was interesting for me as I have never seen so many cargo containers.

IMG_9558

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

